Lesson 76 – Get Angry

I am angry.

I know.
Not uncommon.

But I mean I am ANGRY.

Why?
I’ll give you one clue.
PLEBISCITE.
(Or – as The Pillow-Woman has dubbed it – #plebishite)

I have some questions:
1. Am I correct in my understanding that elected individuals are elected to represent the people who elected them as their representatives?
2. Am I correct in my understanding that the issue of same-sex marriage was an issue used by candidates in the last election to become elected representatives?
3. Am I correct in my understanding that Australians are used to voting when their voting is necessary and the results are effective and impactful?

THEN WHAT IS THE POINT OF A PLEBISCITE THAT WASTES MILLIONS OF DOLLARS, ISN’T COMPULSORY TO VOTE IN AND DISREGARDS THE RESULTS ANYWAY?

Did I mention that I am angry?

In April, 2012 – let me repeat that: in APRIL 2012 – I posted this on facebook:

I have dark hair. Some are blonde.
I have hazel eyes. Some have blue.
I am short. Many are tall.
I am straight. Some are gay.
I am single. Some have loving partners.

What is the difference between myself and others?

I could get married if I chose to.
Some cannot.

It’s not fair. It should be.
It’s that simple.

I was writing in order to make my support for Marriage Equality public and to encourage others to add their names to a petition for the Senate.

In 2012.
It’s now 2017.
NOTHING HAS CHANGED.

I call bullshit.
BULLSHIT.
This whole situation is fucking bullshit.

I swear a lot.
But I usually try to avoid it in these posts.
I try to be more eloquent.
I try to be above that.
But right now?
Right now there’s nothing to do but swear.

This fucking, bullshit waste of my fucking time and waste of the country’s fucking money needs me to swear.
Why?
Because swearing is the only thing that makes sense.
I’m angry.
I’m frustrated.
There is nothing to do but fucking swear!
And why does it have to make sense?
Because the arguments against Marriage Equality make no sense.
For a start, let me make something clear –
Same-sex marriages have nothing to do with the following concerns:
– Children
– Paedophilia
– Bestiality
– ANY-ONE EXCEPT THE HUMAN BEINGS WHO WISH TO BE WED

If your concerns are for the children, then I’d ask:
“To which children do you refer?”
Surely not children of same-sex parents?
Because I’d swear in your fucking face and remind you that any children who have found their way to a family (of same-sex or heterosexual or single or any other dynamic of parents) by way of “unconventional means” are there because they are so loved and so supported and so wanted.
I’d swear in your fucking face and remind you that for centuries, heterosexual couples have accidentally conceived children.
And marriage has had nothing to do with it.
Marriage equality has NOTHING to do with children.

Marriage equality has nothing to do with paedophilia.
Or bestiality.
I feel stupid writing these words.
But I’m making this as clear as I can.

Homosexuality is not a gateway drug.

Nor is homosexuality a choice.
For clarity, I’m going to repeat that:

Homosexuality is not a choice.

Treating human beings with love and kindness and equality is a choice.
And it’s – ironically enough – a very human choice.

I’ll let you in on a little secret:
If you’re against Marriage Equality, it’s actually got nothing to do with you.
But it does impact on society.
When Australia catches up with everyone else in the world (because, even if we have to wait for a whole generation to die out, it is a matter of when), it won’t effect you.
Why?
Because if you’re not gay, you’re unlikely to accidentally get “gay married”.
Because if you’re against Marriage Equality, you’re unlikely to know anyone who’d invite you to a “gay wedding”.
Because THIS ISN’T FUCKING ABOUT YOU.

Argh.
I can’t even…
I just…
I can’t.

This plebiscite is WRONG.
This should not still be a debate.
This shouldn’t be about politicians’ egos and opinions.

I call #plebishite

And if you are interested in a discussion of Jewish perspectives, read this.
I could have framed my points from that side, but it doesn’t matter –
IT’S FUCKING TIME.

#yourewelcome

#iamtooangrytocomeupwithfunnyhashtagsijustwanttostophavingtobeangryaboutthis
#rabbitashandtashareinagreement
#icantijusticantidontijustarghhhhhh

One thought on “Lesson 76 – Get Angry

Leave a comment